Umberto Giordano – Andrea Chénier

Umberto Giordano – Andrea Chénier

Recorded at Walthamstow Town Hall, London on August 1978

About the opera:
Andrea Chénier is an opera in four acts by the verismo composer Umberto Giordano, set to an Italian libretto by Luigi Illica.  It is based loosely on the life of the French poet, André Chénier (1762-1794), who was executed during the French Revolution. The work was first performed at the Teatro alla Scala, Milan, on 28 March 1896 with Evelina Carrera, Giuseppe Borgatti and Mario Sammarco. It was given in New York at the Academy of Music on 13 November 1896, and in London (in English) on 16 April 1903.
Andrea Chénier remains popular with audiences, though now less frequently performed than in the first half of the 20th Century. One reason the opera has remained in the repertoire has been because of the magnificent music provided by Giordano for the tenor lead, which gives a talented singer many opportunities to demonstrate his skill and flaunt his voice. Giuseppe Borgatti’s success in the title part at the first performance propelled him to the front rank of Italian opera singers. He went on to become, surprisingly enough, Italy’s greatest Wagnerian tenor. Famous Cheniers prior to World War II included Giovanni Martinelli, Beniamino Gigli, Giacomo Lauri-Volpi and Antonio Cortis, all of whom have left superlative 78 rpm recordings of the part’s showpiece arias. Franco Corelli, Richard Tucker and Mario del Monaco were arguably the most famous interpreters of the title role in the 1950s and ’60s, while Plácido Domingo became its foremost interpreter in the modern era. The Wagnerian tenor Ben Heppner tackled the role at the Met in the early 21st Century with mixed success; the voice was suitably powerful but he lacked the Italianate vocal colouring that operas such as Andrea Chenier demand. The opera also contains a memorable aria for the soprano heroine, featured in the film Philadelphia with Maria Callas, an exciting one for the baritone villain and a stirring final duet for the male and female leads.

Track List:
01. Questo azzurro (0:39)
02. Compiacente (1:54)
03. Son sessant’anni (2:29)
04. Il giorno intorno (2:41)
05. L’orribile gonnella (2:30)
06. Commosso (0:49)
07. Debole e il Re (3:15)
08. O pastorelle, addio (2:06)
09. Signor Chenier? (0:51)
10. Al mio dire (2:44)
11. Un di all’azzurro (4:59)
12. La notte il giorno (4:16)
13. Oer l’ex inferno (1:11)
14. Temer? (1:53)
15. No, non m’inganno (1:37)
16. Credo a una possanza arcana (3:44)
17. Calligrafia (2:30)
18. Viva Roberpierre! (6:55)
19. Ecco l’altare (2:55)
20. Eravate possente (2:33)
21. Ora soave (2:39)
22. Maddalena di Coigny! (1:43)
01. Dumouriez traditore (3:10)
02. Lacrime e sangue (1:31)
03. Prendi! (4:38)
04. Amici, ancor cantiam, beviam (1:36)
05. Donnina, innamorata (2:37)
06. Nemico della patria? (6:20)
07. Se ancor di me (4:56)
08. La mamma morta (6:08)
09. Perduto! (1:26)
10. Mamma Cadet! (3:28)
11. Si, fui soldato (2:18)
12. Udiamo i testimoni! (3:09)
13. Cittadino, men duol (1:43)
14. Come un bel din maggio (3:49)
15. Viene a costei (3:28)
16. Vicino a te (3:32)
17. La nostra morte (3:28)

The Artists:

Stereo, ADD, mp3 (320 kbps), 114:10 minutes. Covers, info & synopsis included.



One Response

  1. […] Umberto Giordano – Andrea Chénier […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: