• Blog Stats

    • 80,686 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
  • Meta

G.F. Händel & W.A. Mozart – Acis Und Galatea

G.F. Händel & W.A. Mozart – Acis Und Galatea

About the Opera:
Acis and Galatea (HWV 49) was originally a masque composed by George Frideric Händel. He first composed this piece while he was living at Cannons (the seat of James Brydges, 1st Duke of Chandos) during the summer of 1718. It is set to a libretto by John Gay, Alexander Pope, and John Hughes, who borrowed freely from John Dryden’s English translation of Ovid published in 1717, The Story of Acis, Polyphemus and Galatea. In 1732 Händel revised and expanded it to three acts and presented the work in London as an ode. It is not clear whether the original performance was staged, semi-staged, or performed as a concert work. The single voice per part allotted to the chorus links the work with the contemporary Italian serenata. The libretto is based on Ovid’s Metamorphoses, xiii (see Acis and Galatea). It was first published in 1722, and went through a number of revisions before finally becoming the two-act work which is generally performed today. It had a number of revivals in various forms and was Händel’s most widely performed dramatic work during his lifetime. Händel is often noted for his recycling of old material in new works; however, for a work based on a text which he had previously set (his outdoor cantata, or serenata: Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, 1708), there is surprisingly little taken from the earlier work. Borrowings include the aria “As when the dove,” a reworking of “Amo Tirsi” from the cantata Clori, Tirsi e Fileno and, in the 1732 version, “Un sospiretto” and “Come la rondinella” from the same source. Perhaps the best-known arias from this piece are the bass solo: “I rage, I melt, I burn” and the tenor aria “Love in her eyes sits playing”. In 1788, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart rescored the work for his then-patron Baron Gottfried van Swieten.

Track List:
1. Overtüre (3:18)
2. Chor, Galatea) (5:34)
3. Recitativo Accompagnato ed Aria(Galatea) (6:48)
4. Aria( Acis) (3:51)
5. Recitativo ed Aria(Damon) (5:23)
6. Recitativo ed Aria(Acis) (7:27)
7. Recitativo ed Aria(Galatea) (6:11)
8. Duetto(Galatea, Acis) (2:47)
9. Chor(‘Wohl Uns’) (1:03)
01. Larghetto (5:46)
02. Largo (1:19)
03. Coro: Arme Hirten! (4:45)
04. Recitativo accompagnatao ed Aria (Polyphem) (4:39)
05. Recitativo accompagnato ed Aria (Polyphem, Galatea) (6:31)
06. Aria (Damon) (5:11)
07. Recitativo ed Aria (Acis) (5:35)
08. Aria (Damon) (6:21)
09. Recitativo e Terzertto (2:39)
10. Recitatico accompagnato e Coro, Solo e Coro (11:00)
11. Recitativo ed Aria (galatea) (4:37)
12. Coro: Galatea, klag nicht mehr (2:47)

The Artists:

mp3, 320 kbps, cd ripping, 103:32 minutes
Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–   Part2 —–   Part3