• Blog Stats

    • 77,850 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
  • Meta

  • Advertisements

Leonardo Leo – Complete Cello Conciertos

Leonardo Leo – Cello Conciertos

About the Work:
Better known for his vocal works than his instrumental contributions, Leonardo Leo nonetheless left us with a number of highly enjoyable and musically significant instrumental works. This two-disc Brilliant Classics set features his “Six Cello Concertos,” a definite oddity at the same time as the cello was very rarely used as a solo instrument. Leo’s six concertos are substantially more virtuosic than the concertos of Vivaldi and are arguably the most significant works for the medium before Boccherini entered the scene several decades later. They were written at the request of the Duke of Madalon, who, given the difficulty of Leo’s writing, must have been a markedly gifted amateur cellist. This album features cellist Julius Berger, who has not only devoted a substantial portion of his discography to the performance of “early” works for his instrument, but has been musicologically active in the discovery of unknown compositions. His playing is a reflection of his passion and academic insights. Pristinely in tune and totally effortless, Berger grabs the listener’s attention from the first note and doesn’t let it go until the end of the set. Even the most demanding double-stop passages or passagework in the higher ranges of the instrument are tossed off with pleasing accuracy and even playfulness. Brilliant’s sound quality is a bit echoic, but offers a pleasing balance between soloist and orchestra.

Track List:
01. 1 Andantino grazioso (3:36)
02. 2 Con bravura (2:41)
03. 3 Larghetto con poco moto (4:56)
04. 4 Fuga (2:48)
05. 5 Allegro di molto (1:52)
06. 1 Andante grazioso (2:44)
07. 2 Presto (2:12)
08. 3 Larghetto (5:47)
09. 4 Allegro (2:07)
10. 1 Andantino grazioso (3:30)
11. 2 Allegro (2:46)
12. 3 Larghetto a mezza voce (4:08)
13. 4 Allegro (3:15)
14. 1 Andante grazioso (4:24)
15. 2 Allegro (3:23)
16. 3 Largo e gustoso (5:30)
17. 4 Allegro (3:00)
01. 1 Andante piacevole (3:42)
02. 2 Allegro (3:59)
03. 3 Larghetto e gustoso (5:52)
04. 4 Allegro (5:00)
05. 1 Andante grazioso (4:08)
06. 2 Con spirito (3:29)
07. 3 Amoroso (4:55)
08. 4 Allegro (3:33)
09. 1 Maestoso (3:41)
10. 2 Fuga (Allegro) (2:29)
11. 3 Larghetto (4:31)
12. 4 Allegro (2:37)

The Artists:

mp3, 320 kbps, cd ripping, 106:35 minutes
Covers, info included.

D1Part1 —–  D1Part2 —–   D2Part1 —–  D2Part2


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: