• Blog Stats

    • 77,850 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • February 2009
    M T W T F S S
        Mar »
  • Meta

  • Advertisements

Joseph Haydn – Armida (Eszterházy opera cycle)

Joseph Haydn – Armida (Eszterházy cycle)
Recorded in Switzerland on September 1978

About the Opera:
Armida is an opera in three acts by Joseph Haydn, set to a libretto based upon Torquato Tasso’s poem Gerusalemme liberata (Jerusalem Delivered) and written duringhis services for the Eszterházy family. The first performance was 26 February 1784 and it went on to receive 54 performances from 1784 to 1788 at the Esterháza Court Theatre. During the composer’s lifetime it was also performed in Bratislava, Budapest, Turin and Vienna. Haydn himself regarded Armida as his finest opera. Armida then disappeared from the general operatic repertoire, and in the 20th century was revived in 1968 in a concert rendition in Cologne, and later a production in Bern.
Karl Geiringer has commented on how Haydn adopted the “principles and methods” of Christoph Willibald Gluck in this opera, and how the opera’s overture alone encapsulates the opera’s plot in purely instrumental terms. Haydn’s opera contains occasional echoes of Sarti’s Giulio Sabino, played at Esterháza in 1783.

Track List:
01. Sinfonia (5:53)
02. Atto primo: Recitativo: Amici, il fiero Marte (0:40)
03. Atto primo: Aria: Vado a pugnar contento (5:16)
04. Atto primo: Recitativo: Armida, ebben, che pensi? (1:08)
05. Atto primo: Aria: Se dal suo braccio oppresso (3:40)
06. Atto primo: Recitativo accompagnato: Parti Rinaldo: ed ebbe core Armida (2:56)
07. Atto primo: Aria: Se pietade avete, oh Numi (6:59)
08. Atto primo: Marcia (1:18)
09. Atto primo: Recitativo accompagnato: Valorosi compagni, nuovi perigli (1:48)
10. Atto primo: Aria: Dove son? Che miro intorno? (5:37)
11. Atto primo: Recitativo: Ah, si scenda per poco (1:39)
12. Atto primo: Aria: Se tu seguir vuoi (3:56)
13. Atto primo: Recitativo: Armida, ah vieni, e vedi (3:34)
14. Atto primo: Recitativo accompagnato: Oh amico, Oh mio rossor! (3:49)
15. Atto primo: Duetto: Cara, sarò fedele (10:33)
16. Atto primo: Recitativo: Odi, e serba il segreto (1:11)
17. Atto primo: Aria: Tu mi sprezzi, e mi deridi (3:23)
18. Atto primo: Recitativo: No, non mi pento (0:58)
19. Atto primo: Aria: Ah, si plachi il fiero Nume (4:30)
01. Atto secondo: Recitativo: Va, pur folle (1:49)
02. Atto secondo: Aria: Teco lo guida al campo (4:10)
03. Atto secondo: Recitativo: Ben simulati io credo (3:32)
04. Atto secondo: Recitativo accompagnato: Armida…Oh affanno! (4:49)
05. Atto secondo: Aria: Cara, è vero, io son tiranno (6:27)
06. Atto secondo: Recitativo accompagnato: Barbaro! E ardisci ancor (2:17)
07. Atto secondo: Aria: Odio, furor, dispeto (2:12)
08. Atto secondo: Recitativo: Eccoti alfin, Rinaldo, reso (1:00)
09. Atto secondo: Aria: Prence amato, in questo amplesso (3:12)
10. Atto secondo: Recitativo: Ansioso già mi vedi (1:48)
11. Atto secondo: Terzetto: Partirò, ma pensa, ingrato (6:51)
12. Atto terzo: Recitativo accompagnato: Questa dunqu’è la selva? (6:30)
13. Atto terzo: Aria: Torna pure al caro bene (4:33)
14. Atto terzo: Recitativo accompagnato: Qual tumulto d’idee m’eccita in seno (1:05)
15. Atto terzo: Aria: Ah, non ferir: t’arrresta (4:53)
16. Atto terzo: Recitativo accompagnato: Che inopportuno incontro! (5:22)
17. Atto terzo: Aria: Dei pietosi, in tal cimento (3:58)
18. Atto terzo: Marcia (1:17)
19. Atto terzo: Recitativo: Fermate: Utile sia breve dimora (1:26)
20. Atto terzo: Finale: Astri che in ciel splendete (3:10)

The Artists:

mp3, 320 kbps, cd ripping, 2 hours 28 minutes
Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–  Part2 —–  Part3 —–  Part4


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: