• Blog Stats

    • 77,850 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • April 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
  • Meta

  • Advertisements

Joseph Haydn – L’Incontro Improvviso (Eszterhaza Opera Cycle)

Joseph Haydn – L’Incontro Improvviso

Recorded at The Grand Salle, Epalinges, Switzerland on September 1977 (opera) and June 1980 (arias).

About this Opera:
L’incontro improvviso (The unexpected encounter) is an opera in three acts by Joseph Haydn first performed at Eszterháza on 29 August 1775 to mark the four-day visit of Archduke Ferdinand, Habsburg governor of Milan and his consort Maria Beatrice d’Este. The opera is designated a dramma giocoso (a comic opera) and is an example of the then Austrian fascination with Turkish subjects.
The libretto by Carl Friberth was adapted and translated from the French opera-comique by Louis Hurtaut Dancourt, and previously set by Gluck in 1764 as the La rencontre imprévue. In keeping with Italian practice, Friberth constructed longer buffo finale texts at the end of Acts I and II.
Although not Haydn’s greatest success in the operatic field, L’incontro improvviso does include some high-class and varied music. As well as the ‘Turkish’ music, amusing scenes for Osmin and Calandro, the ‘painting’ aria in the last act where Ali describes the contents of a picture with orchestral help, and another aria “Senti, al buio pian” for Osmin with orchestral colouring, there is Italian lyricism evident in arias for Ali (“Deh! se in ciel pietade avete”) and Rezia (“Or vicina a te”). Act II has two powerful arias for sopranos; Haydn detached Rezia’s “Or vicino a te” and published separately in 1783. The superb first act “Mi sembra un sogno” contrasts a trio for female voices with muted violins, cors anglais and horns is a highlight.
The work is scored for an orchestra consisting of 2 oboes (doubling cors anglais), 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets, 2 horns, timpani, percussion, violins I & II, viola, cello, bass and continuo.
It is not known if any further performances followed the Eszterháza production, although a German translation was made for Bratislava. Danish musicologist Jens Peter Larsen discovered the autograph score in Leningrad in 1954, and the opera was subsequently broadcast in Russian in 1956. It was first staged in the UK at the Camden Festival in 1966. The first complete recording was made by Philips in 1980 in association with the Radio Suisse Romande and the European Broadcasting Union, conducted by Antal Dorati.

Track List:
01. No.1 – Ouverture (7:48)
02. Atto primo: No.2: Introduzione (Che bevanda) (5:18)
03. Atto primo: No.3. Recitativo (Ancor io la mia parte farò) (0:25)
04. Atto primo: No.4. Canzonetta (L’amore è un gran briccone) (1:27)
05. Atto primo: No.5. Recitativo (Eccoci finalmente) (0:42)
06. Atto primo: No.6. Aria (Castagno, castagna) (3:09)
07. Atto primo: No.7. Recitativo (Che il diavolo vi porti) (1:38)
08. Atto primo: No.8. Aria (Noi pariamo santarelli) (4:40)
09. Atto primo: No.9. Recitativo (Via dunque, sior buffone!) (0:54)
10. Atto primo: No.10. Aria. (Quanto affetto mi porprende) (5:58)
11. Atto primo: No.11. Recitativo (Care, entrambe amiche mie) (0:51)
12. Atto primo: No.12. Terzetto (Mi sembra un sogno) (7:59)
13. Atto primo: No.13. Recitativo (Indarno m’affanno di veder Osmin) (3:56)
14. Atto primo: No.14. Aria (Deh! se in ciel pietade avete) (5:16)
15. Atto primo: No.15. Recitativo (Per ora insegnameti il secreto) (0:58)
16. Atto primo: No.16. Duetto (Castagno, castagna) (2:03)
17. Atto primo: No.17. Recitativo (Osmin! Io ti conosco) (1:48)
18. Atto primo: No.18. Aria (Che siano i Calandri) (3:57)
19. Atto primo: No.19. Recitativo (È quello, che sta con il Calandro?) (1:34)
20. Atto primo: No.20. Aria (Siam femmine buonine) (4:38)
21. Atto primo: No.21. Recitativo (Venite, signor) (0:25)
22. Atto primo: No.22. Finale (Sangue d’un ginocchio storto!) (5:22)
01. Atto secondo: No.23. Recitativo (Che ne dite, signor) (1:24)
02. Atto secondo: No.24 (Canzonetta (Quivi in un seren gentile) (4:51)
03. Atto secondo: No.25. Recitativo (Prendi, Osmin) (1:05)
04. Atto secondo: No.26. Aria (Ho promesso oprar destrezza) (5:12)
05. Atto secondo: No.27. Recitativo (Giusti Cieli! Che miro?) (2:00)
06. Atto secondo: No.28 Canzonetta (Non piangete, putte care) (2:05)
07. Atto secondo: Recitativo (Ma come arrivaste qui in Cairo?) (1:18)
08. Atto secondo: No.29. Aria (Or vicina a te) (5:16)
09. Atto secondo: Recitativo (Prence, siete in cima) (0:30)
10. Atto secondo: No.30. Aria (Il guerrier con armi avvolto) (5:13)
11. Atto secondo: No.31. Recitativo (Felice amanti, andate) (0:40)
12. Atto secondo: No.32. Aria (Ad acquistar già volo) (5:12)
13. Atto secondo: No.33. Recitativo (Dico e ridico) (1:37)
14. Atto secondo: No.34. Canzonetta (Il Profeta Maometto) (1:10)
15. Atto secondo: No.35. Recitativo (Bravo, fratello!) (1:04)
16. Atto secondo: No.36. Aria (Senti, al buio pian pianino) (4:09)
17. Atto secondo: No.37. Recitativo (Come già dissi) (1:28)
18. Atto secondo: No.38. Duetto (Son quest’occhi un stral d’Amore) (7:09)
19. Atto secondo: No.39. Finale (È in ordine la festa) (3:30)
20. Atto secondo: No.39. Finale (Deh! Fuggite in quest’istante) (5:35)
01. Atto terzo: Recitativo (Amico! Eccoci dunque nelle vostre mani) (3:08)
02. Atto terzo: Canzonetta (S’egli è vero) (8:00)
03. Atto terzo: Recitativo (Principessa amabile!) (2:33)
04. Atto terzo: Aria (Ecco un splendido banchetto) (3:38)
05. Atto terzo: Recitativo (Straniero! Voi già siete tutti scoperti) (3:13)
06. Atto terzo: Intermezzo (0:47)
07. Atto terzo: Recitativo (Ah signor!) (1:37)
08. Atto terzo: Coro (Finale: Or gli affanni son svaniti) (4:29)
09. Tre airie e terzetto: Ifigenia in Tauride (Traetta): Ah, tu non senti, amico (2:18)
10. Tre airie e terzetto: Ifigenia in Tauride (Traetta): QUa destra omicida (3:53)
11. Tre airie e terzetto: Acide e Galaeta (Haydn): Tergi i vezzosi rai (6:16)
12. Tre airie e terzetto: I finti eredi (Sarti): Se tu mi sprezzi, ingrata (5:51)
13. Tre airie e terzetto: La Circe, ossia L’isola incantata (Pasticcio): Lavatevi presto (8:40)

The Players:
Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne
Antal Dorati: conductor

Stereo, ADD, mp3, 320 kbps, 458.91 Mb, 3 hours 36 minutes. Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–  Part2 —–  Part3 —–  Part4 —–   Part5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: