• Blog Stats

    • 79,597 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • May 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
  • Meta

  • Advertisements

Giacomo Puccini – Gianni Schicchi

Giacomo Puccini – Gianni Schicchi

Recorded in Belgium, 1993.

About this Opera:
Gianni Schicchi is an opera in one act by Giacomo Puccini to an Italian libretto by Giovacchino Forzano, based on a story that is referred to in Dante’s The Divine Comedy. It is the third of the trio of operas known as Il trittico. Its first performance was at the Metropolitan Opera in 1918. The opera is best known for the soprano aria, O mio babbino caro (Oh, my dear papa), which has featured in a number of  movies and other works.
Gianni Schicchi was first performed at the Metropolitan Opera on December 14, 1918 with the other two operas of Il trittico. It premiered in Rome on January 11, 1919 and eventually became the most frequently performed of the three one-act operas that make up Il trittico.
In September 2008, film director Woody Allen made his operatic debut with Gianni Schicchi. The production starred baritone Sir Thomas Allen, soprano Laura Tatulescu and tenor Saimir Pirgu. The role of the deceased Buoso Donati was played by comic actor Brently Heilbron.

Track List:
01. Povero Buoso! (3:36)
02. O Simone? (3:47)
03. Ai mei cugini Zita e Simone (2:53)
04. Dunque era vero! (2:17)
05. E non c’é nessun mezzo (2:15)
06. Firenze e come un albero fiorito (2:35)
07. Quale aspetto sgomento e desolato! (3:29)
08. O Mio Babbino Caro (2:08)
09. Datemi il testamento! (1:54)
10. Nessuno sa che Buoso ha reso il fiato? (3:08)
11. Era uguale la voce? (2:51)
12. A me i poderi di Fuccechio (2:26)
13. Ecco la cappelina! (3:03)
14. Prima un avvertimento (2:15)
15. Ecco il notaro (8:43)
16. Ladro! (1:14)
17. Lauretta mia, staremo sempre qui (2:33)

The Players:

Stereo, DDD, mp3, 320 kbps, 122.46 Mb, 51:076 minutes. Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–   Part2


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: