Giacomo Puccini – Turandot

Giacomo Puccini – Turandot

Recorded in Germany in 1982.

About this Opera:
Turandot is an opera in three acts by Giacomo Puccini, set to a libretto in Italian by Giuseppe Adami and Renato Simoni. Though Puccini’s first interest in the subject was based on his reading of Friedrich Schiller’s adaptation of the play, his work is most nearly based on the earlier text Turandot by Carlo Gozzi. Turandot was unfinished by the time of Puccini’s death and was later completed by Franco Alfano.
The first performance was held at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan on 25 April 1926 and conducted by Arturo Toscanini. This performance included only Puccini’s music and not Alfano’s additions. The first performance of the opera as completed by Alfano was conducted by Ettore Panizza. The story of Turandot was taken from the Persian collection of stories called The Book of One Thousand and One Days or Hezar o-yek shab (1722 French translation Les Mille et un jours by François Petis de la Croix — not to be confused with its sister work The Book of One Thousand and One Nights), where the character of “Turandokht” as a cold Chinese princess was found. The story of Turandokht is one of the best known from de la Croix’s translation.The plot respects the classical unities of time, space and action.Puccini first began working on Turandot in March 1920 after meeting with librettists Giuseppe Adami and Renato Simoni. He began composition in January 1921. By March 1924 he had completed the opera up to the final duet. However, he was unsatisfied with the text of the final duet, and did not continue until October 8, when he chose Adami’s fourth version of the duet text. On October 10 he was diagnosed with throat cancer and on November 24 went to Brussels, Belgium for treatment. There he underwent a new and experimental radiation therapy treatment. Puccini and his wife never knew how serious the cancer was, as the news was only revealed to his son. He died of complications on November 29, 1924. He left behind 36 pages of sketches on 23 sheets for the end of Turandot, together with instructions that Riccardo Zandonai should finish the opera. Puccini’s son Tonio objected, and eventually Franco Alfano was chosen to flesh out the sketches after Vincenzo Tommasini (who had completed Boito’s Nerone after the composer’s death) and Pietro Mascagni were rejected. Ricordi decided on Alfano because his opera La leggenda di Sakùntala resembled Turandot in its setting and heavy orchestration. Alfano provided a first version of the ending with a few passages of his own, and even a few sentences added to the libretto which was not considered complete even by Puccini himself. After the severe criticisms by editor Ricordi and the conductor Arturo Toscanini, he was forced to write a second, strictly censored version that followed Puccini’s sketches more closely, to the point where he did not set some of Adami’s text to music because Puccini had not indicated how he wanted it to sound. Ricordi’s real concern was not the quality of Alfano’s work, but that he wanted the end of Turandot to sound as if it had been written by Puccini, and Alfano’s editing had to be seamless. Of this version, about three minutes were cut for performance by Toscanini and it is this shortened version that is usually performed. The premiere of Turandot was at La Scala, Milan, on Sunday April 25, 1926, one year and five months after Puccini’s death. It was conducted by Arturo Toscanini. In the middle of Act III, two measures after the words “Liù, poesia!”, the orchestra rested. Toscanini stopped and laid down his baton. He turned to the audience and announced: “Qui finisce l’opera, perché a questo punto il maestro è morto” (“Here the opera ends, because at this point the maestro died”). The curtain was lowered slowly. Toscanini apparently never conducted the opera again.The second and subsequent performances at the 1926 La Scala season were conducted by Ettore Panizza and they included Alfano’s ending. (As discussed in Ashbrook and Powers, the music for Liù’s death was not in fact Puccini’s final composition, but had been orchestrated some nine months earlier).

Track List:
01. Acte I – Popolo di Pechino! [Le Mandarin] (2:17)
02. Acte I – Le guardie imperiali indietro, cani! [Les Gardes Impériaux] (0:47)
03. Acte I – Padre! Mio padre! [Calaf] (3:08)
04. Acte I – Gira la cote! [Les Hommes] (2:27)
05. Acte I – Perche tarda la luna? [La Foule] (4:07)
06. Acte I – La, sui monti dell’Est [Les Jeunes Gens] (1:14)
07. Acte I – O giovinetto! Grazia! [La Foule] (3:38)
08. Acte I – La grazia, Principessa! [La Foule] (1:56)
09. Acte I – Figlio, che fai? [Timur] (1:52)
10. Acte I – Fermo! Che fai? [Ping, Pong, Pang] (1:59)
11. Acte I – Silenzio, olà! [Les Servantes de Turandot] (1:54)
12. Acte I – Notte senza lumicino [Pang, Pong, Ping] (2:49)
13. Acte I – Signore, ascolta! [Liù] (2:47)
14. Acte I – Non piangere, Liù! [Calaf] (2:29)
15. Acte I – Ah! Per l’ultima volta!’ [Timur] (3:19)
16. Acte II, Premier Tableau – Olà, Pang! [Ping] (1:18)
17. Acte II, Premier Tableau – O China, che or sussulti [Ping] (2:03)
18. Acte II, Premier Tableau – Ho una casa nell’Honan [Ping] (3:10)
19. Acte II, Premier Tableau – O mondo pieno di pazzi innamorati! [Ping, Pong, Pang] (1:52)
20. Acte II, Premier Tableau – Addio, amore, addio, razza! [Ping, Pong, Pang] (1:57)
21. Acte II, Premier Tableau – Non v’è in China per nostra fortuna [Ping, Pong, Pang] (1:48)
22. Acte II, Premier Tableau – Udite trombe! Altro che pace [Pong] (1:18)
23. Acte II, Deuxième Tableau – Gravi, enormi ed imponenti [La Foule] (3:14)
24. Acte II, Deuxième Tableau – Un giuramento atroce mi costringe [L’Empereur] (3:37)
25. Acte II, Deuxième Tableau – Diecimila anni al nostro Imperatore! [La Foule] (1:31)
26. Acte II, Deuxième Tableau – Popolo de Pechino! [Le Mandarin] (1:42)
01. Turandot – In questa reggia (3:06)
02. Turandot / “O, Principi, Che A Lunghe Carovane” (4:24)
03. Turandot / “Straniero, Ascolta” (2:02)
04. Calaf / “Si! Rinasce!” (0:55)
05. Turandot / “Guizza Al Pari Di Fiamma” (1:39)
06. Calaf / “Si, Principessa!” (1:02)
07. Turandot / “Gelo Che Ti Da Foco” (2:02)
08. Calaf / “La Mia Vittoria” (1:53)
09. Turandot / “Figlio Del Cielo!” (2:07)
10. Calaf / “No, no, Principessa Altera” (3:28)
11. La Folla / “Ai Tuoi Piedi Ci Prostriam” (2:46)
12. Gli Araldi / “Cosi Comanda Turandot” (3:46)
13. Calaf / “Nessun Dorma” (3:15)
14. Ping, Pong, Pang / “Tu Che Guardi Le Stelle” (2:25)
15. Ping / “Straniero, To Non Sai” (1:44)
16. Ping / Principessa Divina!” (2:46)
17. Liu / “Signor, Non Parlero!” (1:34)
18. Turandot / “Chi Pose Tanta Forza Nel Tuo Cuore?” (2:59)
19. Turandot / “Strappatele Il Segreto!” (1:32)
20. Liu / “Tu Che Di Gel Sei Cinta” (3:20)
21. Timur / “Liu! Sorgi!” (2:36)
22. Timur / “Liu, Bonta! Liu, Dolcezza!” (3:25)
23. Calaf / “Principessa Di Morte!” (3:53)
24. Turandot / “Che e Mai Di Me?” (2:58)
25. Calaf / “La Tua Gloria Risplende Nell’incanto” (3:35)
26. Turandot / “Piu Grande Vittoria Non Voler!” (1:03)
27. Turandot / “So Il Tuo Nome!” (1:30)
28. La Folla / “Diecimila Anni Al Nostro Imperatore!” (1:49)
29. Turandot / “Padre Augusto” (2:02)

The Players:
Wiener Philarmonier Orchestra And Chorus
Herbert von Karajan: conductor

Stereo, DDD, mp3, 320 kbps, 2 hours 11 minutes, 329.21 Mb Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–   Part2 —–   Part3 —–   Part4


One Response

  1. Turandot link ( is broken.
    Rapidshare: ‘The file could not be found. Please check the download link. ‘

    Can you help me?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: