Joseph Haydn – L’Isola Disabitata (Eszterházy Opera Cycle)

Joseph Haydn –  L’Isola Disabitata

Recorded at The Grand Salle, Epalinges, Switzerland on May 1977

About this Opera:
L’isola disabitata (“The Desert Island”), Hob. 28/9, is an opera (azione teatrale in due parte) by Joseph Haydn, his tenth opera, written for the Eszterházy court and premiered December 6, 1779. The libretto by Pietro Metastasio was previously set by Giuseppe Bonno and subsequently used by Manuel García. Nino Rota has set excerpts to music as well. Haydn’s work has long been remembered for its dramatic Sturm und Drang ouverture, but the rest of the opera did not see print until H. C. Robbins Landon’s 1976 rental edition. A new edition by Tom Busse is to be published on the net in October 2007. The piece is striking for using orchestral accompagnati throughout. There is also a libretto of the same title by Carlo Goldoni (using the pen name Polisseno Fegeio), set by Giuseppe Scarlatti in 1757; it concerns a Chinese woman and Dutch sailors and was revived in 1760 (and again in Vienna in 1773) under the title La cinese smarrita.

The Artists:

Track List:
1. Parte Prima: Sinfonia (8:08)
2. parte prima: Recitativo (Qual contrasto non vince) (3:20)
3. parte prima: Recitativo (Ah germana! Ah Constanza!) (7:32)
4. parte prima: No.1. Aria (Se non piange un’infelice) (4:40)
5. parte prima: Recitativo (Che ostinato dolor!) (2:22)
6. parte prima: Recitativo (Ma sarà poi, Gernando) (3:56)
7. parte prima: No.2. Aria (Chi nel cammin d’onore) (3:55)
8. parte prima: Recitativo (Che fu mai quel ch’io vidi?) (1:39)
9. parte prima: No.3. Aria (Fra un dolce deliro) (4:12)
1. parte seconda: Recitativo (Ah presaga fu l’alma) (6:47)
2. parte seconda: No.4 Aria (Non turbar quand’io mi lagno (4:30)
3. parte seconda: Recitativo (Non s’irriti fra’ primi) (6:02)
4. parte seconda: No.5. Aria (Come il vapor s’ascende) (3:41)
5. parte seconda: No.6. Aria (Ah, che invan per me pietoso) (4:50)
6. parte seconda: Recitativo (Giacché da me lontana) (0:23)
7. parte seconda: No.7 Aria (Giacché il pietoso amico) (7:38)
8. parte seconda: Recitativo (COnstanza…Constanza?) (3:47)
9. parte seconda: No.8. Quartetto (Sono contenta appieno) (10:39)

Stereo, mp3, 320 kbps, ADD, 82:01 minutes. Covers, info & synopsis included.

Part1 —–  Part2 —–  Part3


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: