George Frideric Händel – Samson

George Frideric Händel – Samson

Recorded at the Musikverein, Vienna, May 1992

About this work:
Samson (HWV 57) is an oratorio by George Frideric Handel. It was based on a libretto by Newburgh Hamilton, who based it on Milton’s Samson Agonistes, which in turn was based on the figure Samson in Chapter 16 of the Book of Judges. Samson is considered one of Handel’s finest dramatic works. The premiere was given in London on 18 February 1743. It was a great success, leading to a total of seven performances in its first season, the most in a single season of any of his oratorios. Samson retained its popularity throughout Handel’s lifetime and has never fallen entirely out of favor since. The well-known arias “Let the bright Seraphim” (for soprano) and “Total eclipse” (for tenor) are often performed separately in concert. Samson is usually performed as an oratorio in concert form, but on occasions has also been staged as an opera.

The Artists:
Concentus Musicus Wien
Nikolaus Harnoncourt: conductor
Arnold Schoenberg Chor
Erwin Ortner: chorus master
Anthony Rolfe Johnson: Samson
Roberta Alexander: Dalila
Jochen Kowalski: Micah
Anton Scharinger: Manoa
Alastair Miles: Harapha

Track List:
01. Symphony { Georg Friedrich Händel 1685-1759 } (5:28)
02. Menuet (2:58)
03. Chorus of Philistines: Awake the trumpet’s lofty sound (2:03)
04. Philistine Woman: Ye men of Gaza, hither bring (3:54)
05. Chorus of Philistines: Awake the trumpet’s lofty sound (1:13)
06. Samson(Air): Torments, alas! are not confined (5:57)
07. Micah (Air): O mirror of our fickle state (4:01)
08. Samson (Air): Total eclipse! no sun, no moon, all dark (3:27)
09. Micah (Accompagnato): Since light so necessary is to life (1:19)
10. horus of Israelites: O first created beam! (4:54)
11. Manoa (Rec): Oh miserable change! is this the man (0:54)
12. Manoa (Acc): The good we wish for, often proves our banes (1:09)
13. Manoa (Air): Thy glorious deeds inspir’d my tongue (4:17)
14. Samson (Acc): My genial spirits droop, my hopes are flat (1:19)
15. Micah (Air): Then long Eternity shall greet your bliss (0:54)
16. Chorus of Israelites: Then round about the starry throne (2:30)
17. Manoa (Rec): Trust yet in God! Thy father’s timely care (0:57)
18. Micah (Air): Return, oh God of hosts! (3:49)
19. Chorus of Israelites:To dust his glory they would tread (5:25)
20. Attendant to Dalila: With plaintive notes and am’rous moan (6:20)
21. Samson (Air): Your charms to ruin led the way (3:49)
22. Dalila,Vergin (Duet): My (Her) faith and truth, oh Samson, prove (4:44)
23. Chorus of Virgins: Her faith and truth, oh Samson, prove (1:11)
24. Dalila (Air): To fleeting pleasures make your court (1:37)
25. Chorus of Virgins: Her faith and truth, oh Samson, prove (1:18)
01. Samson, Dalila (Rec.): N’er think of that! (1:16)
02. Dalila, Samson (Duet): Traitor (Traitress) to love! I’ll sue (hear) no more (2:18)
03. Chorus of Israelites: To man God’s universal law (4:19)
04. Harapha (Air): Honour and arms scorn such a foe (5:18)
05. Samson, Harapha (Duet): Go, baffled coward, go / Presume not on thy God (3:05)
06. Chorus of Israelites: Hear, Jacob’s God, Jehovah, hear! (3:15)
07. Philistine (Air): To song and dance we give the day (1:23)
08. Chorus of Philistines: To song and dance we give the day (2:06)
09. Chorus of Israelites and Philistines: Fix’d in his everlasting seat (2:54)
10. Micah (Rec.): More trouble is behind: for Harapha (1:27)
11. Harapha (Air): Presuming slave, to move their wrath (2:56)
12. Chorus of Israelites: With thunder arm’d, great God, arise! (4:23)
13. Samson (Accompagnato): Jehovah’s Glory known! (0:30)
14. Samson (Air): Thus when the sun from’s wat’ry bed (4:03)
15. Micah (Accompagnato): With might endued above the suns of men (0:32)
16. Micah (Air): The Holy One of Israel be thy guide (1:26)
17. Chorus of Israelites: To fame immortal go (1:20)
18. Philistine (Air): Great Dagon has subdued our foe (1:55)
19. Chorus of Philistines: Great Dagon has subdued our foe (2:23)
20. Manoa (Air): How willing my paternal love (2:49)
21. A Symphony of horror and confusion (0:23)
22. Chorus of Philistines: Hear us, our God, oh hear our cry! (3:08)
23. Micah (Air): Ye sons of Israel, now lament (2:03)
24. Chorus of Israelites: Weep, Israel, weep a louder strain (1:11)
25. A Dead March (3:42)
26. Chorus of Israelites: Glorious hero, may thy grave (5:13)
27. Israelitish woman(Air): Let the bright Seraphim in burning row (3:13)
28. Chorus of Israelites: Let their celestial concerts all unite (3:18)

Stereo, DDD, mp3 (320 kbps CBR), 366.45 Mb, 147:44 minutes. Full info, synopsis & covers included.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: