• Blog Stats

    • 80,686 hits
  • Blog policy

    This blog provides information about artists and musical works. If you like the music and/or the info, please, support the original artists and buy their records. This blog does not store or host any copyrighted material and does not support piracy. This blog does not accept any kind of messages containing any type of insults nor any offensive comments. Blog administrators reserve the right to delete comments that do not comply with those requirements.
  • Categories

  • Top Posts

  • Recent Comments

    victor on Johann Sebastian Bach –…
    Like on Ludwig Van Beethoven – 9…
    anonymousremains on Jacques Ibert – Piano…
    iok on Charles Gounod – Faust…
    tony van Grinsven on Post with not working lin…
  • February 2020
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep    
  • Meta

Various Artists – Great Opera Arias

Various Artists – Great Opera Arias

Recorded between 1979 & 1988

About these works:
The fourteen extracts recorded here are among the best-loved arias from the worlds’s most famous operas. All of them were recorded with the most famous and reputed singers and orchestras, in some cases during live performances. This recording is a good opportunity for those prefering short pieces, to get familiar with the greatest arias.

Track List & Artists:
01. Puccini – Tosca – E Lucevan Le Stelle (3:14)
Giacomo Aragall: Cavaradossi
National Philharmonic Orchestra – Sir Georg Solti
Recorded in 1984

02. Puccini – Manon Lescaut – In quelle Trine Morbide (2:17)
Kiri Te Kanawa: Manon
Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna – Riccardo Chailly
Recorded in 1987

03. Mozart – Le Nozze Di Figaro – Voi Che Sapete (2:57)
Frederica Von Stade: Cherubino
London Philharmonic Orchestra – Sir Georg Solti
Recorded in 1981

04. Rossini – Il Barbiere Di Siviglia – Largo Al facotum (5:06)
Leo Nucci: Figaro
Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna – Giuseppe Patanè
Recorded in 1988

05. Verdi – Ernani – Surta È La Notte (6:06)
Susan Sunn: Elvira
Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna – Riccardo Chailly
Recorded in 1987

06. Massenet – Werther – Pourquoi Me Réveiller (3:06)
Luciano Pavarotti: Werther
National Philharmonic Orchestra – Oliviero de Fabrittis
Recorded in 1979

07. Beethoven – Fidelio – Abscheulicher, Komm, Hoffung (8:03)
Hildegard Behrens: Leonore
Chicago Symphony Orchestra – Sir Georg Solti
Recorded in 1979

08. Boito – Mefistofele -Sono Lo Spirito Che Nega (3:32)
Nicolai Ghiaurov: Mefistofele
National Philharmonic Orchestra – Oliviero de Fabrittis
Recorded in 1980

09. Boito – Mefistofele – L’altra Notte In Fondo Al Mare (6:56)
Mirella Freni: Margherita
National Philharmonic Orchestra – Oliviero de Fabrittis
Recorded in 1980

10. Puccini – Manon Lescaut – Donna Non Vidi Mai (2:14)
José Carreras: Des Grieux
Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna – Riccardo Chailly
Recorded in 1987

11. Giordano – Andrea Chénier – La Mamma Morta (5:15)
Monserrat Caballé: Maddalena
National Philharmonic Orchestra – Riccardo Chailly
Recorded in 1984

12. Rossini – La Donna Del Lago – Mura Felici (9:57)
Marylin Horne: Malcolm
New York City Orchestra: Richard Bonynge
Recorded in 1981

13. Puccini – La Bohème – Che Gelida Manina (4:34)
Luciano Pavarotti: Rodolfo
New York City Orchestra: Richard Bonynge

14. Verdi – Il Masnadieri – Tu Del Mio Carlo..Carlo Vive (8:20)
Joan Sutherland: Amalia
New York City Orchestra: Richard Bonynge
Recorded in 1981

Stereo, DDD, mp3, 320 kbps, 188.99 Mb, 71:43 minutes

Part1 —  Part2

Umberto Giordano – Andrea Chénier

Umberto Giordano – Andrea Chénier

Recorded at Walthamstow Town Hall, London on August 1978

About the opera:
Andrea Chénier is an opera in four acts by the verismo composer Umberto Giordano, set to an Italian libretto by Luigi Illica.  It is based loosely on the life of the French poet, André Chénier (1762-1794), who was executed during the French Revolution. The work was first performed at the Teatro alla Scala, Milan, on 28 March 1896 with Evelina Carrera, Giuseppe Borgatti and Mario Sammarco. It was given in New York at the Academy of Music on 13 November 1896, and in London (in English) on 16 April 1903.
Andrea Chénier remains popular with audiences, though now less frequently performed than in the first half of the 20th Century. One reason the opera has remained in the repertoire has been because of the magnificent music provided by Giordano for the tenor lead, which gives a talented singer many opportunities to demonstrate his skill and flaunt his voice. Giuseppe Borgatti’s success in the title part at the first performance propelled him to the front rank of Italian opera singers. He went on to become, surprisingly enough, Italy’s greatest Wagnerian tenor. Famous Cheniers prior to World War II included Giovanni Martinelli, Beniamino Gigli, Giacomo Lauri-Volpi and Antonio Cortis, all of whom have left superlative 78 rpm recordings of the part’s showpiece arias. Franco Corelli, Richard Tucker and Mario del Monaco were arguably the most famous interpreters of the title role in the 1950s and ’60s, while Plácido Domingo became its foremost interpreter in the modern era. The Wagnerian tenor Ben Heppner tackled the role at the Met in the early 21st Century with mixed success; the voice was suitably powerful but he lacked the Italianate vocal colouring that operas such as Andrea Chenier demand. The opera also contains a memorable aria for the soprano heroine, featured in the film Philadelphia with Maria Callas, an exciting one for the baritone villain and a stirring final duet for the male and female leads.

Track List:
01. Questo azzurro (0:39)
02. Compiacente (1:54)
03. Son sessant’anni (2:29)
04. Il giorno intorno (2:41)
05. L’orribile gonnella (2:30)
06. Commosso (0:49)
07. Debole e il Re (3:15)
08. O pastorelle, addio (2:06)
09. Signor Chenier? (0:51)
10. Al mio dire (2:44)
11. Un di all’azzurro (4:59)
12. La notte il giorno (4:16)
13. Oer l’ex inferno (1:11)
14. Temer? (1:53)
15. No, non m’inganno (1:37)
16. Credo a una possanza arcana (3:44)
17. Calligrafia (2:30)
18. Viva Roberpierre! (6:55)
19. Ecco l’altare (2:55)
20. Eravate possente (2:33)
21. Ora soave (2:39)
22. Maddalena di Coigny! (1:43)
01. Dumouriez traditore (3:10)
02. Lacrime e sangue (1:31)
03. Prendi! (4:38)
04. Amici, ancor cantiam, beviam (1:36)
05. Donnina, innamorata (2:37)
06. Nemico della patria? (6:20)
07. Se ancor di me (4:56)
08. La mamma morta (6:08)
09. Perduto! (1:26)
10. Mamma Cadet! (3:28)
11. Si, fui soldato (2:18)
12. Udiamo i testimoni! (3:09)
13. Cittadino, men duol (1:43)
14. Come un bel din maggio (3:49)
15. Viene a costei (3:28)
16. Vicino a te (3:32)
17. La nostra morte (3:28)

The Artists:

Stereo, ADD, mp3 (320 kbps), 114:10 minutes. Covers, info & synopsis included.